Key to Global Equality: Free Online Education for All

As we are entering the 2nd year of remote life, this can be the opportunity to “finally” democratize the education system.

Saygin Celen
4 min readJan 2, 2021

As someone who studied and lived in 3 countries, namely, Turkey the, USA, and Spain, I had the chance to experience the shortcomings of the global education system: lack of real-life experience and learning how to make it happen as a team of students with teachers as mentors.

Time to awaken the true power of the Internet for globally organized free education

Just to exemplify, I learned to play block flute for 10 years in elementary and mid-school and learned how boilers work for a semester when I was studying mechanical engineering in Turkey, all I did in the US was solving equations instead of building machines as a master’s student and I was creating imaginary solutions for company cases while I was doing my MBA in Spain.

I felt mostly lost because I found no meaning or purpose for what I was learning. It seemed to me that education was all fitted in a small box and I was most probably among the lucky few.

The theory is good to make one think, but the difference is just the same as watching or playing a football game. Think of someone actually playing the game after watching it for a thousand hours with no physical experience.

--

--

Saygin Celen

Into innovation | design | engineering. Sociable traveller. Check out the link to see how I can be helpful: lnk.bio/Sai_Awaynear or email: saygin@awaynear.com